Rice with chicken

This dish is one of the most typical recipes in Panama, I don’t think there’s a Panamanian that hasn’t eaten rice with chicken in a party or in any family gathering. If one has to choose the three most popular dishes in Panama the thing would be complicated because the Panamanians have so good appetite that with only three on the podium is not enough… In any case the arroz con pollo (Panamanian style) is at the top ten, side by side with the sancocho, but that recipe is for another day. Enjoy!

Ingredients

700 grams of rice
1 whole chicken cut in quarter
3 tablespoons tomato paste
1 diced onion
3 tomatoes chopped
2 green peppers chopped
Half cup of olives stuffed with peppers
Half cup capers
Half cup of mixed vegetables
Oil for frying, about 3 tablespoons
Salt and pepper to taste
1 litre water

Preparation

Season the chicken with salt and pepper and put it to brown in a large pot, turning so it browned on all sides. We then take out the chicken and in the same oil soute the onion, tomato, tomato paste and peppers. In the meantime we are going to debone the chicken. When the vegetables are sautéed we add the chicken and the water and cover it, when it starts to boil, we lower the heat and continue cooking for 10 minutes. After that time add the rice, stirring well and fix the salt if it did lack. We cook the rice covered for 20 minutes, then add the mixed vegetables, the olives and capers and leave it on low heat for about 5 or 10 more minutes.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Rice with chicken

  1. [...] has made a few suggestions and they all sound perfect –  rice with chiken . looks nice and tasty; then there is . Gorgonzola and Honey Bruschette fron The Bartolini kitchen; [...]

  2. [...] cooking around the globe.  Panama is a few miles from me, and until I came across the blog Blue Jelly Beans I realised I knew very little about this country, you see Giovanna hails from Panama and now lives [...]

  3. ChgoJohn March 25, 2012 at 05:26 Reply

    Hello, Giovanna! I’m sure you know that Claire featured this recipe earlier in the week. I made it for dinner this evening and wanted to tell you that I enjoyed it a great deal. The addition of olives and capers gives the dish a unique flavor, one that I really liked. Best of all, I’ve plenty of leftovers to enjoy again. Thanks!

    • Bluejellybeans March 26, 2012 at 12:35 Reply

      Hi John!
      I’m so happy to know that you liked it. I think it is even better the next day ;)
      Thanks for letting me know!

  4. Chica Andaluza March 26, 2012 at 11:23 Reply

    Am making this for lunch today – thanks Giovanna!

    • Bluejellybeans March 26, 2012 at 12:36 Reply

      Hi Tanya!
      Thanks for telling me. I hope you like it :)

  5. The World Is My Cuttlefish May 30, 2012 at 09:16 Reply

    I found your recipe on Promenade Plantings. I am away from home and wanted something tasty with easy ingredients for tonight. I’m off to the shops now.

    • Bluejellybeans May 31, 2012 at 23:50 Reply

      Hi Anne!
      Thank you very much for stopping by and commenting :) I hope you enjoyed your “arroz con pollo” is one of my favorite dishes.

  6. [...] Confirmation and we entertained a few guests at home. The menu was very simple and 90% Panamanian (rice with chicken, potato salad and tamale). For dessert I decided to do something new (for me) because I love trying [...]

OK, let's talk

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 889 other followers

